Hyflex/Hybrid Mini-Series: Part 2

Allison Curran
2 min readNov 24, 2020

The move to hyflex does two things: requires a mindset shift and leaving habit behind and elevates the need for strong instructional designs for grouping, differentiation, belonging, personalized learning, equity, etc. And, both are needed more than new hardware (cameras, stream decks, presentation systems).

My hyflex coaching in a district has given me a direct line to the specific context created by integrating online, remote learners with face-to-face instruction. I have survey results in addition to vignettes and observations across the nearly three months I’ve been coaching hyflex teachers. I’ll address the “data” in a few separate posts.

scale design heavier than hardware

When surveyed, after the first day of professional development, before school began, some patterns emerged among the teachers that I coach:

While there was an underlying strand of need around technology, it was logistics, not tools that teachers needed: “I feel like I need 3 more hands and 8 more eyes to manage my computer, online students, and make sure my students in person are on task. I am struggling to see how I will give all students equal attention.” One summary captured the tone after the first day: “I just still struggle with how this plays out in real life.”

There was a disconnect between the idea of hyflex as face-to-face with online learners vs. hyflex as an online experience with face-to-face learners also included. This disconnect probably led to “today felt like all of those activities would be GREAT if we were totally remote. I’d like more practical and applicable activities that incorporate BOTH flex and in-person instruction.”

Hyflex needs to be planned as an online class with face-to-face learners included not the other way around.

When asked what they most needed out of day two? Example lessons!

The best I found then (before education favorites like Caitlin Tucker and Jennifer Gonzalez started tackling the topic) was from a university professor: Lesson Three: HyFlex, Zoomflex, and multimodal teaching, particularly the example showcased in the third and fifth videos. Note: Professor Caulfield has since included his hyflex examples in a larger blended learning series.

When I get to do this training again, I’ll promote these two pieces even more:

1. definition clarity and

2. lesson examples

I’ll tackle the needs showcased about a month in and later, two months later, in future posts.

--

--

Allison Curran

Consultant @hcescIS #PDexperiences http://HCESC.org MEd@MiamiUniversity #lifelonglearner. Views are my own.